top of page

Making your heart sing

There’s this thing I really love. Me, myself and I, in a car with my favourite worship playlist up very loud.

I don’t care what anyone driving past me thinks, I’m more than happy to belt out the tunes at full volume, full facial expression, full drumming on the steering wheel, and often full tears!

Singing praise just fills my spirit up.

But after finding out about this bub and the fact that we were going to have to do this journey again, the air was definitely knocked out of my lungs for a while. Sometimes I’d try to sing in those initial few weeks and just couldn’t. Or I’d find my voice but my heart just wasn’t really in it. I remember struggling through a song with gritted teeth until I broke through and actually couldn't stop myself singing.

Even so, I found I got frustrated with flakey lyrics and wanted only hard and fast biblical truths, stuff I could rely on - this powerful and steadfast God, a God that never changes and is always true, always with you no matter what.

And so I dug out songs that spoke of that. Strong words and strong promises that remind me of His power. Songs that reminds me of the big picture, not of the sadness right here, right now.

Singing praise is now my go to more than ever. It just lifts me. And there’s a whole lot more it does too. Things like taking our focus off ourselves and onto God, refreshing our spirit, taking away our negativity, and inviting God’s presence…

Here are the songs I’m loving right now…

Or clips if you're not a Spotify user

God With Us

Psalm 23 (Surely Goodness, Surely Mercy)

It Is Well

Your Words

It Is Well With My Soul

Psalm 63 (Better than life)

Psalm 51 (Wisdom in the secret heart)

Miracles

Psalm 46

Be Thou My Vision

Do It Again

worship in life

bottom of page